Saving Grace Awarded 2nd Best Medium-Sized NonProfit to Work for in Oregon

Saving Grace’s Executive Director Janet Huerta, and staff member Ashtyn Ryan, received an award in a Portland ceremony last night for the Top Ten Nonprofits to work for in Oregon. Saving Grace received the award for being the 2nd Best Medium-Sized Nonprofit. All top 10 nonprofits received trophies and made speeches, like at the Academy Awards.

More than 180 nonprofits and approximately 5,500 employees took part this year in the sixth annual 100 Best Nonprofits to Work For in Oregon survey. Results of the survey show employees of Saving Grace have lots of job satisfaction, pride and belief in the mission, and they rate highly Saving Grace’s progress in achieving its purpose. “I think the most important thing I can do with my life is to make sure that Saving Grace employees are happy at work,” says Huerta.

The survey is open to 501(c) organizations and foundations, government agencies, credit unions, professional associations and chambers, hospitals and health plans/systems, universities, community colleges, schools, districts, and religious groups and charities.

The project consists of two online surveys - an anonymous employee survey and a confidential employer survey of benefits and workplace practices. The employee survey, which counts for 5/6 of the total, measures satisfaction and importance of 35 workplace qualities in six categories: work environment; management and communications; mission and goals; career development and learning; benefits and compensation; and sustainable practices.

The surveys are designed and reviewed by independent, objective third-party research firm Davis, Hibbitts & Midghall, to score and rank the winning 100 nonprofits. Oregon Business does not subjectively select winners and the best-known organizations have no advantage. The 100 Best Nonprofits to Work For are honored in the October issue of Oregon Business, distributed statewide to 20,000 subscribers. The list is also accessible online at and

NewsRyan Stillwateraward